Assistance Needed In Programming 2342-222 Mini Remote

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Assistance Needed In Programming 2342-222 Mini Remote

Greetings, I'm new to Insteon (and this forum) and kindly request assistance programming a 2342-222 mini remote if possible. I have installed a dimmer module (2457D2) behind 2 movie poster marquees I have in my "home theater." Using my Android device and the hub app, I created a scene controlling both marquee lights so that upon activation, the lights turn on and immediately start to dim at a set ramp rate/second until the lights are off, giving the impression that the show is about to start. This works well when I use my phone or tablet to activate the scene, but I would like to be able to turn the created scene on/off via an 8-scene mini remote (2342-222). I have read-up on the documentation that came with the devices, but I cannot find anywhere how to program the mini remote to turn on/off a scene created with the app. Can this be done? Thanks in advance.

I too have this problem though with the 4 button mini remote. It does not appear to be compatible with Android. I had to use scenes in android to have two switches control two lights whenever either switch was turned on or off. Once I programmed a switch to be controlled by another switch I could not then program it to be a controller. Now I bought a 4 button mini remote and would like to turn these same lights on and off. But without support in the android app I don't know how to program the switch to turn the android scene on and off?

Comment

I have also just acquired a Hub, some dimmers etc and a mini remote. Although the mini-remote box clearly says it "works with all Insteon devices" it clearly does not work with the Insteon Hub V2 unless you have an iOS app. I came to this conclusion over the weekend and have not yet tried to confirm that with Insteon directly.