Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can I do this?

Hello All

I've been using Control4 in my home for about 7 years. I really like what Insteon is doing and looking to get started with some switches/dimmers. I'd like to know if Insteon can do something similar to what I'm currently doing.

I have Control4 dimmer switches throughout my home and I have a program on two of the switches (one in my bedroom and the other by the main entrance/exit of the home). The program allows me to double tap the off switch and it will turn off all the lights in the house (as well as send a command to an IR blaster that shuts all the blinds in the home). I can also programatically turn on the top or bottom LED of the switch and set it's colour to provide a visual indicator that a light is on somewhere in the house (I turn on the bottom LED and set to red).

How could I accomplish something similar with Insteon? Specifically, double tap to turn off all lights and to provide a visual indicator that there is a light on somewhere in the house?

Thanks in advance

To do this successfully you would need a ISY Series Controller from UDI: http://www.universal-devices.com/ The Insteon system would need to be some what customized to replicate what you have on hand. By using a KPL, colored change kit, one of a dozen wireless RF / IR remote blind kits, etc.

Given your current investment in Control 4 what is the reason for considering Insteon? NOTE: You must have a neutral wire in all areas where a potential switch will be. If your Control 4 system does not have these in place you need to stop now.

As the cost to rewire an existing home is really not an option.
    Teken . . .

Comment

Which window shading system are you using?