Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Questions not in FAQ

Hi all,

New to Insteon, long time X10 user. I have been using Insteon for a few months mixed with X10 devices and had a few questions. I am using just the Insteon hub from the starter kit with the devices, although I have an ISY in the closet that I haven't even unboxed yet.

1. I have a 2466 switch that seemed to want to control a 2477 switch, so could swear I decoupled them, but somehow it seems after a few weeks the 2466 again is controlling the 2477. Ever heard of this kind of regression? Is this what local programming lock is for, maybe an X10 command on my network or a setting in the Android app caused the programming to get reset? Are there any issues generally if my network is issuing X10 commands as well as Insteon, or any issue with some Insteon devices having X10 addresses but others not having them?

2. What is the difference in a scene between "responder" and "both"? I assume the hub is the controller and the devices in the scene are responders? I set my 2477 switch as controller in my "Sunset" scene, but it doesn't turn on, even though I noticed when the scene has run, the state of the 2477 does control all other devices in the scene. So from this can I conclude that making it a controller in a scene means only that the switch position controls the other devices? If so, for how long is that in effect? Till the controller receives the next command or until the next scene runs?

3. Is there any way with the hub to set offsets on a scene, so that it starts 30 minutes before or after sunset, or are we getting into ISY functionality with that?

4. Why the heck would Insteon discontinue the 2466? I have a lot of switches too small to accommodate a 2477, and the mini-controller is still too big to fit some of my switch boxes.