3 Way Switch HELP

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

3 Way Switch HELP

I have 2 2477S that I'm setting up. I've been successful in the past with 3 way switches but this one has me stumped. First problem is that i don't see any traveler wires anywhere. Just 2 blacks and a white. I've been able to figure our which one would be the primary and the other the secondary but I've run into more issues. In the secondary box there is a white wire just capped by itself.

The power runs into the primary via the bottom black wire but I'm not sure where it comes into on the secondary. Also if the primary is switched to off NO power gets to the secondary and can't power the lights on.

I'm not an electrician by any stretch of the imagination but I'm pretty good and figuring things out but this one is perplexing me.

I've tried the following link before but it isn't helping me this time - https://bithead942.wordpress.com/201...ernate-wiring/

Any help would be appreciated.
    Stephen
    You do not have permission to view this gallery.
    This gallery has 4 photos.

I'm not an electrician either but it seems like your secondary is just another switch in the line. What I mean is, instead of having an actual 3 way switch, you have two regular switches in the same circuit. Maybe if you wired your primary to be always on, you could wire your secondary to be the actual switch. That said, I have experienced issues having multiple switches (in my case a switch and two Fanlincs) in the same circuit. Stuff didn't respond right. I had to hard wire the circuit to always on and use scenes to control the Fanlincs.

Hope that helps!
    Proud tinkerer with Insteon Hub, Switches, Dimmers, Fanlincs, etc. Plus some Amazon Echos to make things more fun!
    I blog about smart home stuff too!

Comment