Complete Newbie

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Complete Newbie

Nothing more annoying in forums than a newbie asking a zillion questions, all of which are covered with FAQs and a general place located as a starting point.

So to breach my first annoyance!... I didn't see an FAQ dedicated for newbies to get a general understanding - can someone push me very firmly with a stick in the right direction? Apologies in advance!

So, to introduce myself now I have lost half the regular readers for asking a Newbie question!... I am a qualified electrician (UK) with experience in CCTV and Home Security and I have never really had an interest in home automation. I get it, you can talk to things to make things happen, but with a 4yo I kinda had some of that... please go turn on the light etc...

I am in the process of designing a house, which is going well and an architect is about to take over and do things properly now I have my ideas on paper and modelled. I am turning my thoughts to home automation now... my 4yo will soon be a stroppy teenager who doesn't want to turn my light on anymore, in fact, she is likely to not even acknowledge me soon I suppose!!!

My automation requirements will be to be able to control internal and external lighting, power outlets, window security blinds up and down, garage door, security - in the way of external PIR to bring on lighting and I think that pretty much covers it.

My wife, the boss!, will not be wanting remote controls for all this gadgetry so I will require the typical outlets and wall switches, most of which I have seen on the Insteon website, so I am fairly confident Insteon can cater to my needs.

So am I right in thinking I can wire in some control in my main Distribution Board (aka Electrical panel, consumer unit) and for more local control I can use the small inline modules local to the light fitting or socket outlet for on/off and dimming control (not on the sockets of course!)