ericpl

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

ericpl

I’m new to Insteon! I have three Insteon devices, a 2245-222 hub, a 2844-222 motion sensor, and a 2477D dimmer. I have installed the devices on the app and created a scene to have the motion sensor turn the dimmer on when motion is detected. I have the sensor as controller and the dimmer as responder. All appears correct, however the switch/dimmer will not turn on the lights, upon initiated sensor motion. The motion sensor is reacting to motion but will not activate the dimmer/light. I’m puzzled and need help. Ericpl

Creating a scene alone is not enough, you have physically link the motion sensor to the dimmer (see the notes that came along with the motion sensor). Unfortunately, AFAIK, the design of Insteon motion sensors limit its application unless linked directly to the device it’s triggering.

Comment

I respectfully disagree. Creating a scene through the Hub should be enough since it simply goes through the motions of the manual linking process for you. Arguably the 2842-x22 version could ignore software commands if a jumper was not set properly, but the 2844-x22 version does not have that issue.

Here are some things you can check:

When you created the scene through the Insteon application, do you remember going to the motion sensor and pressing its set button before finalizing the scene? If not, a step might have been skipped. You can go through the motions and resave the scene to double check.

Check the scene set up. The motion sensor should be a controller and the light a responder, but the light also has to be set to a brightness level. If it is set to off, the motion sensor will turn it to Off.

After scene creation, you should be able to tap the set button on the motion sensor to cause the light to turn On or Off. This is just a quick way to test that the Hub linking process worked.

Comment

Thanks. I guess I was referring to the older version.

Comment