I'm a relative newbie to Insteon

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I'm a relative newbie to Insteon

I'm a relative newbie to Insteon. I've been using a Hub and some plug in device dimmers and outlets for a special project, controlling a Christmas model train layout. We were exploring an alternate path to control everything but a few things made me abandon that path and we're sticking with Insteon.

This year the layout size expanded greatly and I built a power distribution system replacing the inline devices with dual on/off outlets. Everything draws about 10-12 amps total. After all, we're controlling model trains. We use Home Control Automation to control everything. The Power distribution is a 12 outlet strip of junction boxes with dual control on/off outlets in it along with a number of normal outlets, a few of which run computer monitors with a video running off a PC and a separate PC that controls everything.

For 2017 (yes, we're already planning the 2017 layout even though we set up the display tomorrow for this year). for 2017 I need to expand some features in the layout.

I need to incorporate some sensors in the layout such as sensors in the track that can tell where trains are. These can be as simple as a photo resistor, an IR sensor or something similar. Will this idea work with the 2450 I/O Linc Low Voltage/Contact Closure Interface?

I want to put some lighting up to use after dark. The layout is in a hotel lobby in Orlando, FL and it's bright during the day but at night we think some lighting effects would be nice. Will these fixtures, the ETC Source Four Mini LED here at [url]https://www.etcconnect.com/Products/Lighting-Fixtures/Source-Four/Source-Four-Mini/Features.aspx[/url] , work with any Insteon dimmer, whether or not it's a plug in device or an outlet?