Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What controllers (and all the other stuff, since I'm a noob.)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What controllers (and all the other stuff, since I'm a noob.)

So, my buddy has told me to get some of this stuff, but he's the other side of the country, and we've been missing each other for a few days.

I have a 15 year old house, so the wiring is all relatively new, and probably up to code....

I have an Amazon Echo, and a few Dots.
    I have an Ecobee thermostat.

I want to do some smart lighting.
    I want to be able to control it from keypads and switches on the wall, from my phone (android & iphone) and from my Alexa/Dot.
    I might want to add IR tv controls in the future.

So, firstly, some questions on the lighting themselves...

Easy one is the master bedroom.
    I have a single light switch on the wall. I want to be able to dim the lights.
    I think I need the : 2477D

I also have a fan in the master bedroom.
    It's controlled my one of those wireless controllers that connects to a controller hidden in the fan base.
    I'm guessing that I need the : 2475F
    However, when I do that, I need to control it somehow.
    I'm okay with a phone app on this one.
    Can I control it from my Echo Dot?

The wife likes things simple.
    Not sure I can get away with a keypad in the master bedroom.
    However, if I put in this : 2334-232
    Can I then control the fan from the keypad?

I have a closet off of the master bedroom.
    If I put a dimmer switch (2477D) in the closet, can I turn off the closet light using the dimmer switch in the master bedroom, or do I need a keypad?
    ie. The ON switch in the MB turns on the MB lights. The ON switch in the closet turns on the closet lights. The OFF switch in the closet turns off the closet lights. The OFF switch in the MB turns off ALL the lights.
    ???