No announcement yet.

New Insteon installation in a 2 wire systems and fuses home made in the 1960's

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New Insteon installation in a 2 wire systems and fuses home made in the 1960's

I'm new to Insteon. I recently installed a 2245-222 Hub and I am using the Windows 10 app and Windows 10 phone app. I also got 3 of the 2474DWH 2-wire dimmer switches. I am using them to control the front and back poorch lights with timers. I get home in the evening late, so I would like to actually have some lights on when i get home. The other switch is for the hallway so that i am not going into a dark house when i get home at night. I did purchase the 2477S on/off switch but it wouldn't work without the neutral wire. I do not have a neutral wire anywhere in the home. So I am kinda limited on what i can install. That is a bit disappointing.

I do have a 2441TH wall thermostat that i plan to install soon. My current manual thermostat only has 4 wires but after looking at the AC unit that it connects to, the control board does have all the colors/ slots to add a new five wire connection.

I also have 3 2843-222 open/close sensors coming in the mail.

Eventually I would like to set up the 2864-232 Wireless outdoor HD Camera. I plan to get this before december. Amazon has it on sale for 99.00. I am just looking into what kind of power box I am going to use to connect power to it and if I am going to use wifi or run a cat-5 to it. The cool thing is, an Insteon rep did say it was now compatible with the windows 10 app and phone.

I also plan to pick up a 2635-222 on/ff module to control when the light for my baby tortoises. I am curently using cheap timmer I had picked up at home depot. I also think it would be cool to have a 2864-222 HD indoor cam to record and stream the turtles.