Multiple users / devices for 1 Hub ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Multiple users / devices for 1 Hub ?

Newbie here, Just pre-ordered the new apple hub pro and some dual band devices but have not rec'd anything yet !!!
    Just a quick question. Can multiple users use multiple IOS 8 devices ie; iphones / Ipad's to access the same Hub and alter / change settings ?
    want to be able to have other family members make changes as I would be able to etc...

Do they all go on same account ?
    Do I need to setup multiple accounts?
    Do I need to give them login credentials ? Can we all be on all at same time ?

thanks I am sure someone has also requested this before.

Hi,

While not familiar with the new Hub, I doubt it will manage things differently in the areas you are asking about.

Yes, you would create one Insteon account for all users/devices that you intend to have interact with your hub. No need for multiple accounts (nor is there a capability for doing so)

Yes, all devices and users can be on at the same time, and all have access to the settings, the latter is something that some of us have requested in the past, i.e., a "read only" client for family members that would restrict them from making changes to the configuration. Lacking this, you just need to manage who makes changes and when. (Honestly, in most cases, not a big issue. Most other family members are not interested in playing with the settings)

Comment

hi guys..
      i have a question relation to your setup..
      how about multiple screens (5-7 inch tablets) mounted on wall in each room.. (thats what i plan to do) and keep them permanently wall mounted..all login to my insteon account.. is there a problem logging in from different platforms? is there a timeout for logging in?
      i am a IOS user (macbook, iPad, iPhone) but i found the windows instead version nicer( tiles) which would be nice for a tablet in kiosk mode.. but is it more stable?