Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Multi-zone I/O solution for monitoring doors and windows?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Multi-zone I/O solution for monitoring doors and windows?

I am new to insteon and have done well getting it going. I have been considering ISY, but have not decided to make that jump as I am not totally sold on insteon so far. So I am looking for a solution to work with the existing HUB.
    My situation is a new home with read sensors prewired for all doors and windows. Each door and window is a direct run to the main "alarm" panel. All I have to do is ad magnets for triggering. I have already done this with the doors. I counter-sunk some magnets in the doors to match up with the read sensors. The daisy chained the door read sensors in series across a terminal block. This allows me to use a single I/O sensor to monitor all doors. However, I do not like this idea for the windows.
    I have 19 windows around the house that are wired into the panel. I want to separate them out individually, or at least into zones of 3-4 windows. The problem is that I do not want to purchase a separate I/O for each group. That would get expensive quickly.
    What can I use/integrate with the insteon hub that will allow me to add multiple read sensors and keep alerts zone specific? I am hoping for 6 zones without getting 6 I/O linc modules at $42 a pop.

There is nothing that will provide what you want that will integrate with the Hub--which is an entry level device. In addition, Insteon is not meant to be used as a security system and it's unsafe to use Insteon as one if the need is for a security system. Insteon devices can supplement a true security system, but should never be used in place of one.

An Elk security system can fulfill your requirements and can integrate with Insteon using an ISY.