Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Stray X10 messages?

Good day :-)

I recently embarked on my journey into the world of home automation. I am a software developer by day, so I decided to take the path of writing my own automation software to interface with a powerline-based network. To this end, I bought a 2413U PowerLinc modem, with which I have linked a dimmer switch and an I/O module so far. The projects for which I have done these links are working well, and I've generally enjoyed the experience of developing for the Insteon technology. :-)

There is one curiosity, though, that I'd like to sort out. The PLM is reporting the receipt of X10 messages. This happens at unpredictable but usually fairly frequent intervals -- between 3 and 10 minutes typically. Out of the blue, the PLM will send a byte sequence indicating that Raw X10 has been received, and the X10 data it reports is (in almost all cases) FF 80, which, if my references serve me correctly, indicates a status check being issued against the entirety of house code F == 'J'. (Though from what Wikipedia has to say about X10, it also seems like an incomplete command, because it doesn't contain any unit codes. I don't know much about X10, though..)

I've never worked with X10 before, and as far as I know I haven't purchased any X10-compatible devices, though I do have a wireless remote controlled outlet for my Christmas lights, as well as a timer switch for the lights in one room of the house. The remote control unit is a Woods 32555, if I'm remembering correctly, and the timer switch is a cheap unit with 4 presets (3m, 5m, 10m, 15m). I can't find any evidence that either of these would be designed to support home automation standards.

Has anyone else seen this behaviour? It's been suggested to me that this is the PLM reading its own outbound X10 messages, but this seems somehow unlikely to me. Could it be that I'm receiving (or partly receiving) signals from a neighbour's systems?