No announcement yet.

Plugin Garage Door Switch and Genie Series II Intellicode Garage door Opener

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Plugin Garage Door Switch and Genie Series II Intellicode Garage door Opener

I just changed my older garage door opener with a new Genie Model 2027 opener. It will not work with a dry contact switch like my old opener. Is there a way to get the Genie to talk to my Insteon Garage Door Model #74551 Garage Door Control and Status Kit? I am an engineer so modification could be accomplished. Has any other user found a way to interface my Genie opener to the I/O Linc - Insteon Low Voltage / Contact Closure Interface to operate the door remotely? Would I need to hack a Genie remote push button or remote to accomplish this and what Genie device would be the best candidate to use? The status indicator will work OK as is but I need a way to make the door control work. Thank you.

I believe that a 2-wire standard push button wall control is available for the 2027. If so, then you can connect the I/O Linc to where the button would connect.
    Message from Forum Admin: stusviews passed away in April 2018. Stu was a huge fan of Insteon and a huge presence on both the Smarthome and Insteon forums, helping thousands of us along the way (he had nearly 20,000 posts to his name). We thank him for his contributions, dedication, and passion for making the Smart Home a reality. He will truly be missed.
    Saving energy is not always free. Be a world saver.

Comment

Originally posted by stusviews View Post
      I believe that a 2-wire standard push button wall control is available for the 2027. If so, then you can connect the I/O Linc to where the button would connect.