Hub2 and X10?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hub2 and X10?

While I am a newbie with respect to Insteon, I've been using X10 for almost 40 years (since the BSR days) so, our home now represents a substantial investment in X10 devices... for example, we have (and depend on) over thirty X10 wall switches

If X10 commands are supported by Insteon devices, I will probably choose Insteon as a transition path away from X10 since we cannot justify replacing all X10 devices in one step.

1 - http://www.insteon.com/insteon-x10-programming.html indicates that Insteon supports X10, but there is no date on that page nor is there any specific mention of the Hub nor the Hub2, so, does the Hub2 have the capability to control X10 devices?

2 - Reverse related to this, the above page _seems_ to indicate that Insteon switches can be programmed to respond to X10 commands. Is this the case?

3 - Does the Insteon android app have a "demo" mode? (I've installed the app, but it will not go beyond the hub association process which I can't do until I purchase a hub.)

Thanks in advance for any information.

Beverly Howard

Yes the earlier Insteon modules can have a Primary X10 address programmed into them and the earliest also supported X10 Scenes.
    I have some with Primary X10 Addresses myself. Still no 16 button Insteon Remote like the X10 HR12A Palm Pad.

The newest Insteon devices are dropping X10 support.
    Some that have not been replaced with newer models. Still have X10 support. The individual sales pages should indicate if X10 support is still in that model.
    The 2245-222 HUB II has also dropped X10 support and does not work with Houselinc.
    Last edited by BLH; 12-22-2014, 12:12 PM. Reason: Add information

Comment

I was able to verify that the HTTP API on the 2245 HUB *does* in fact still support X10. Perhaps the thing that is missing X10 support is the smartphone app for controlling it?

Comment

The 2245-222 Hub does not support the X10 protocol.