Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Cross reference for which device for a purpose?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cross reference for which device for a purpose?

I am new to Insteon and home automation. I need some help understanding what devices work for what purposes. Is there a cross reference available? I am looking for a few applications right now: 1) turn on/off water heater at my vacation home (have a hub, thermostat and lamp there now); 2) turn on/off a hot water recirculator from a switch, ideally with a countdown timer so it is not left on continuously; 3) turn on/off radiant floor heat remotely. Any help is appreciated.

1. This [url="http://www.smarthome.com/220v-240v-30-amp-insteon-2477sa2-load-controller-normally-closed-relay-dual-band.html"]Insteon Load Controller[/url] can be used to control electric water heaters.

2.An [url="http://www.smarthome.com/switchlinc-on-off-insteon-2477s-remote-control-switch-dual-band-white.html"]On/Off switch[/url] is the appropriate device for a hot water recirculation pump. You can use the Hub schedule the switch, but you'll need additional software and/or hardware for a countdown timer.

3. An [url="http://www.smarthome.com/aube-rc840t-240-on-off-switching-electric-heating-relay-with-built-in-24-v-transformer.html']Aube relay[/url] will allow you to use any standard thermostat with 220/240V heating.
    Message from Forum Admin: stusviews passed away in April 2018. Stu was a huge fan of Insteon and a huge presence on both the Smarthome and Insteon forums, helping thousands of us along the way (he had nearly 20,000 posts to his name). We thank him for his contributions, dedication, and passion for making the Smart Home a reality. He will truly be missed.
    Saving energy is not always free. Be a world saver.

Comment

I appreciate your quick reply. A few followup questions:
      1) my water heater has a 3-prong 110v plug. Could I just use one of the 3-prong non-dimming outlet?